I took a glorious trip to North Georgia last weekend solely to pick apples! Tom & I drove to Blue Ridge and visited Mercier Orchards for a perfect fall day.

If you know how much I love apples, you will know how excited I was to go pick my own! We picked bags of Fuji, Cameo, Golden Delicious, and Ambriosa, Mercier’s own apple breed.

I decided to get crafty with my apple loot by making sweet, savory and warm baked apples. This recipe is killer, easy and perfect for a fall dessert.

Pick a large, crisp apple. Honeycrisp, pink lady or fuji work great- they retain some of their crispness, whereas a gala or golden delicious would get far too mushy after it’s baked. Core the apple but leave 1/4″ at the bottom- you don’t want to push the bottom out. Place apple in microwave safe dish.

Sprinkle the center of the apple with a “fall-like” spice- I used pumpkin pie spice, but cinnamon would also be tasty.

easy-baked-apple-spice

Add frozen blueberries into the center. They will bake up and taste like raisins!

 easy-baked-apple-blueberries

        easy-baked-apple-sweet

Top the filled up apple with your favorite sweetener. I used Stevia In The Raw, a zero calorie sugar. You can use agave sweetener, regular sugar or even honey?!

easy-baked-apple

Place a lid on the top of the dish and microwave 5-7 minutes. Keep an eye on it, mine finished around 5 minutes, but time may vary based on microwave. And that’s it!

easy-baked-apple

There was a nice warm syrupy glaze at the bottom of the dish from the cooked blueberries! I warn you it will be hard not to eat it all as soon as it’s done, but it will be VERY hot, slice a piece and wait patinetly 🙂

Oh, and here are some fun pictures from Mercier and the trees we picked from!

easy-baked-apple-trees

easy-baked-apple-apple

easy-baked-apple-orchard

